Sri Lanka on my mind…

  

Last week I returned from a holiday to Sri Lanka.  I can honestly say I had very low expectations of Sri Lanka, not even that keen to go, but I found it to be so fascinating – it kind of touched every sense!  Sri Lanka is a like a rough diamond… There is so much beauty and at the same time so much poverty and sad pictures from the 2004 tsunami. It’s not so easy to get around so you will need time. If I ever visit again I would want to go by train and bike around the country. The beaches we found were amazing, by far the warmest, softest waters I’ve ever swam in. I will remember this holiday for many years to come and hope to go back one day  The parts of Sri Lanka I saw, down south, is a bit like a paradise in ruins. I’m so lucky to have seen it this way, I’m guessing in a few years it will look completely different.  Below are some of my photos from the trip.

The sunset at Mirissa Beach was amazing
Banana Daiquiri on the beach to finish the day!
Indian Ocean
Local Fishermen fishing for sardines
Everywhere you will find men selling King Coconuts like this
Fresh fruit is sold like this – amazing taste!
Watermelon
We visited a local Kindergarten – the kids were just beautiful and so well behaved!
Tsunami damage
Tsunami damage

 

Tsunami damage
Tsunami damage
Graveyard by the beach…
Graveyard by the beach
This is her house
Two people live here…
Beautiful flowers everywhere

Monkeys are everywhere – living freely in the palm trees

 

7 thoughts on “Sri Lanka on my mind…

    1. Thank you! I’m so glad you like them! I would love to go back one day, the world seem to have missed this place somehow. My heart goes out to all of those people who are really struggling to make ends meet, it made me ashamed how ”good I’ve got it” and I now look at the world differently. So many poor people, large families living together on next to nothing… I met two families whilst over there, they were just beautiful people and I would love to be able to help them. We can’t save everyone, but if each of us help someone else in the world it sure would go a long way.

      Like

Leave a Reply

